Undercurrent wins International Folk Music Award Album of the Year

Sarah represents the vitality of the modern folk era… reverence for tradition, and passion for the future.
— Aengus Finnan, Folk Alliance International’s Executive Director

International Folk Music Award 2017 Winners:

Album of the Year: Undercurrent, Sarah Jarosz
Song of the Year: “Black Man in a White World,” Michael Kiwanuka & Inflo
Artist of the Year: Parker Millsap
Spirit of Folk Awards: Barbara Dane, Chloe Goodyear, Michelle Conceison, Ramy Essam, Si Kahn, and SONiA disappear fear
Lifetime Achievement Awards: Iconic composer David Amram (Living), activist songwriter Malvin Reynolds (Legacy), and prolific Canadian folklorist Helen Creighton (Business/Academic)